Wednesday, December 30, 2009

NCSLA's Annual Award Ceremony and Officer Installation Dinner

On December 3rd, NCSLA held its annual Award Ceremony and Officer Installation Dinner at Biaggi's in Cary. Mary Schwarz kicked off the proceedings with opening comments and words of thanks for those with whom she worked closely during 2009. The 2010 officers were then announced and a short board meeting took place thereafter. Later in the evening, the following awards were presented:

  • Horizon Award: Given to Jennifer Evans, this award recognizes a chapter member who shows promise of becoming an outstanding member of the profession.
  • Meritorious Achievement Award: Given to Tamika Barnes, this award honors a chapter member for notable and enduring contributions to the chapter and to the profession.
  • Sarah Aull Award: Presented to C. Vinson, this award is given to the winner of a contest rewarding excellence in student papers related to the field of special librarianship.

The evening was brought to a close by Jamal Cromity who took time to thank and recognize fellow board members for their individual contributions in 2009 and shared his enthusiasm and vision for an exciting 2010!

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Chemistry Librarianship Student Scholarship

Call for Applications: 2010 Lucille M. Wert Scholarship –
Deadline: February 1, 2010

Designed to help persons with an interest in the fields of Chemistry and Information to pursue graduate study in Library, Information, or Computer Science, the Scholarship consists of a $1,500 honorarium. This scholarship is given yearly by the Division of Chemical Information of the American Chemical Society.

The applicant must have a bachelor’s degree with a major in Chemistry or related disciplines (related disciplines are for example Biochemistry or Chemical Informatics). The applicant must have been accepted (or currently enrolled) into a graduate Library, Information, or Computer Science program in an accredited institution. Work experience in Library, Information or Computer Science preferred.

The deadline to apply for the 2010 Lucille M. Wert Scholarship is February 1, 2010. Details on the application procedures can be found at and once there click on “Awards” and then click on “Lucille M. Wert Student Scholarship”.

Applications (email preferred) can be sent to:

Contact address:
Marge Matthews

CINF Awards Committee
633 Dayton Rd.
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010-3801
Phone: 215-823-3922

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Web Integration Webinar

On Friday November 13th, Jamal Cromity hosted a well-attended webinar entitled "Web Integration". Topics covered included the integration of tools such as Google Ajax RSS Feeds Displayer, Share Point RSS Reader, Image embeds via Facebook and Flickr. LinkedIn and Twitter. The webinar provided basic information on each of these resources as well as tips for using them in special libraries' work. The webinar concluded with an in-depth discussion of the SLA initiative for choosing a new name. Jamal reviewed comments received back on the proposed name from chapter members and walked participants through a report highlighting SLA's research findings on various aspects of the effort to determine the new name.